Toy Hauln Hooligans  

Go Back   Toy Hauln Hooligans > Hooligan's Categories > Quite Possibly R rated > TECH > Truck Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2016, 04:04 AM   #1
sin cal hd
Its all the previous poster's fault.
Hooligan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wingnutville Province
Age: 38
Posts: 3,822
Rep Power: 39
sin cal hd has quite a few friendssin cal hd has quite a few friends
Default stooping question for you fella's

My 12v compressor I have for my truck is rated @25a. I'm desperately looking for a flat mount LED style on/ off push button style switch. However, the highest rated I seem to find is about 10a. What would happen if I get a swith rated way less than what I need? Burnt up switches? Fire? Melted dash plastic? I've found a few different ones on Amazon that I like but none seem to be rated what I think I need.

Here is something similar
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00WLW...+button+switch
__________________
Liberals whinning about right wing media, is like the star football player getting rejected by the head chearleader cause they won't go out with him.
sin cal hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 04:44 AM   #2
sin cal hd
Its all the previous poster's fault.
Hooligan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wingnutville Province
Age: 38
Posts: 3,822
Rep Power: 39
sin cal hd has quite a few friendssin cal hd has quite a few friends
Default

Title should say stoopid
__________________
Liberals whinning about right wing media, is like the star football player getting rejected by the head chearleader cause they won't go out with him.
sin cal hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 06:47 AM   #3
JJ
.
Hooligan
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,031
Rep Power: 33
JJ has quite a few friendsJJ has quite a few friends
Default

I would use a relay. That way you can use any switch you want and keep your high amp load wiring as short as possible
JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 02:36 PM   #4
CHAIN_DOGG
Team "Think Pink "
Hooligan
 
CHAIN_DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 7,768
Rep Power: 65
CHAIN_DOGG has quite a few friendsCHAIN_DOGG has quite a few friends
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
I would use a relay. That way you can use any switch you want and keep your high amp load wiring as short as possible
Good call.........That way your switch only carry's the coil load. Yes, your under rated Switch would have a Premature failure.......Kinda like Scott

Last edited by CHAIN_DOGG; 03-01-2016 at 02:40 PM.
CHAIN_DOGG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 02:54 PM   #5
sin cal hd
Its all the previous poster's fault.
Hooligan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wingnutville Province
Age: 38
Posts: 3,822
Rep Power: 39
sin cal hd has quite a few friendssin cal hd has quite a few friends
Default

Relay. Check.

Next question. A relay that is rated at 25a or more? Could someone give me an example of what I need and how to hook up. I just need a 1 switch setup.

A relay like this?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005OV...RZL&ref=plSrch
__________________
Liberals whinning about right wing media, is like the star football player getting rejected by the head chearleader cause they won't go out with him.

Last edited by sin cal hd; 03-01-2016 at 02:57 PM.
sin cal hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 04:23 PM   #6
CHAIN_DOGG
Team "Think Pink "
Hooligan
 
CHAIN_DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 7,768
Rep Power: 65
CHAIN_DOGG has quite a few friendsCHAIN_DOGG has quite a few friends
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sin cal hd View Post
Relay. Check.

Next question. A relay that is rated at 25a or more? Could someone give me an example of what I need and how to hook up. I just need a 1 switch setup.

A relay like this?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005OV...RZL&ref=plSrch
Base and relay together.....easy wiring for you. look at the pictures terminals are numbered for switch off / on......And load to Comp.


http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Truck-Rel...hertight+relay
CHAIN_DOGG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 04:43 PM   #7
sin cal hd
Its all the previous poster's fault.
Hooligan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wingnutville Province
Age: 38
Posts: 3,822
Rep Power: 39
sin cal hd has quite a few friendssin cal hd has quite a few friends
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHAIN_DOGG View Post
Base and relay together.....easy wiring for you. look at the pictures terminals are numbered for switch off / on......And load to Comp.


http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Truck-Rel...hertight+relay
I've seen this too. Ok, I think I got it. Stay on call Dogg
__________________
Liberals whinning about right wing media, is like the star football player getting rejected by the head chearleader cause they won't go out with him.
sin cal hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 04:46 AM   #8
ssduane
nothing important to say
Hooligan
 
ssduane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,982
Rep Power: 46
ssduane has quite a few friendsssduane has quite a few friends
Default

check O'Rielly's or Autozone, most have kits/hranesses for LED lightbars, come with a 30/40 amp relay and LED switch for about 15 bucks.
ssduane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 05:38 PM   #9
sin cal hd
Its all the previous poster's fault.
Hooligan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wingnutville Province
Age: 38
Posts: 3,822
Rep Power: 39
sin cal hd has quite a few friendssin cal hd has quite a few friends
Default

I bought the relay Dogg posted. I have no idea what the numbers mean on the contact side of it. It's a 5 post relay with 5 different colored wire harness. All I want to do is run power to the switch and back to air compressor. Any ideas?
__________________
Liberals whinning about right wing media, is like the star football player getting rejected by the head chearleader cause they won't go out with him.
sin cal hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 10:06 PM   #10
CHAIN_DOGG
Team "Think Pink "
Hooligan
 
CHAIN_DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 7,768
Rep Power: 65
CHAIN_DOGG has quite a few friendsCHAIN_DOGG has quite a few friends
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sin cal hd View Post
I bought the relay Dogg posted. I have no idea what the numbers mean on the contact side of it. It's a 5 post relay with 5 different colored wire harness. All I want to do is run power to the switch and back to air compressor. Any ideas?
Simplified.........Make sure the switch you use for the coil voltage is fused also

CHAIN_DOGG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



A forum for Toy Haulers In loving memory of Christopher R. Lokken - Rest in Peace Nibbz - April 18th, 1976 to June 2nd, 2007
------ Attention: This Forum DOES Contain Adult Material! ------
------ Notice: You must be logged on to view FULL content. ------
Hooligan's Store
Hooligan's Gallery
Donate $ for hosting



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2008 ToyHaulnHooligans.com
Images posted on this forum may be reproduced online or in print by industry magazines or flyers. By posting images here, you agree to this stipulation, and wave any DRM.
Please contact the administration team for information on publications we have relationships with.